A Novel About Saint Luke

On this feastday of St. Luke the Evangelist, I received a link to this Foreword to Taylor Caldwell’s novel, Dear and Glorious Physician: A Novel About St. LukeSince this book is on our Suggested Books list and is one that Tom and I thoroughly enjoyed, I thought I would pass it on to you, with a small commentary on our reaction to reading it.

Taylor Caldwell’s Foreword Here

When we read this book, we felt immersed in the sights, smells, and sounds of the time.  The author does a wonderful job of recreating the societies and families in which her scenes are set, and you really do feel as though you are viewing that history.  The book has been around for a long time and I had heard of the title but never read it, until it was mentioned to me by a friend who had recently converted to Catholicism.  She is an athletic type, not usually a reader, but when she described to me how she had been swept away by this novel and how very much she had enjoyed it, I decided I had better have a look at it.  And that was all it took–I too was immediately immersed in the story.

May our celebration of the feast of St. Luke bring blessings to us all!

Leave a Reply

