Getting Started in “Wise Blood”

Since this is such a small book, I think I’ll write about my reactions to it as I go.  I’ve waited a while before getting started, because I didn’t want to have forgotten the book by the time our meeting rolled around.

CHAPTERS  ONE – THREE

The first thing I notice is the author’s ability to describe using few words.  I like the “few hogs nosing in the furrows look(ing) like large spotted stones” from the window of the racing train.  I feel as though I have been put down into the  landscape of a black-and-white 1940’s movie, but the place is utterly foreign to me and the people unlike anyone I have known.  And, perhaps fatally for the story, the author has not yet drawn me in, has not made me want to know more about them or what will happen to them.

Leave a Reply

